Baltimore DUI/DWI Lawyer
Contact us now!
  1. Practice Areas:
  2. Breath Test
  3. CDL Consequences
  4. DUI Consequences
  5. DUI/DWI
  6. Ignition Interlock Program

You Can Find Us Here!


View Larger Map

The Law Offices of Marc G. Snyder


Baltimore City
The Law Offices of Marc G. Snyder
229 N. Howard Street, Suite 201
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Baltimore County
The Law Offices of Marc G. Snyder
The Woodholme Center
1829 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208

Prince George's County
The Law Offices of Marc G. Snyder
8713 Greenbelt Road
Greenbelt, MD 20770

Main Office:   (410) 528-1177
Fax:(443) 817-0700
24 Hour Hotline:   1-800-HURT-123

DUI/DWI Consequences in Maryland

If you are stopped for suspicion of DUI, you will be asked to submit to a BAC test. This test will determine whether your conviction will be a DWI or a DUI. You can refuse to take the test, but the refusal will be considered an admission of guilt in your court case.

Your conviction will spark two cases, one in the courts and one with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. After your arrest, you will only have 10 days to request the Motor Vehicle Administration hearing. If you do not make the request correctly, you will lose your right to drive. You need the help of a qualified DUI attorney to help you file this paperwork in order to fight for your right to drive. Basic Consequences for First Time Offenders If you are arrested for your first drunk driving offense, the consequences you face will depend on whether you are charged with DUI or DWI.

For DUI convictions, you will face the following:
1. Jail time up to 1 year
2. Fines of up to $1,000
3. Possible probation to lessen jail time
4. Addition of 12 points to license
5. Possible ignition interlock device
6. Possible alcohol education requirement

If you are convicted of a DWI, you will face the following:
• Jail time up to 2 months
• Fees up to $500
• Additional 8 points on license

Subsequent offenses carry stricter penalties. License Suspensions for Maryland DUI Besides your criminal court case, you will also face an administrative hearing with the Motor Vehicle Administration as a result of your Maryland DUI arrest. This hearing will determine the length of your license suspension. Typical license suspensions range from 90 days to 3 years, depending upon whether or not this is your first offense. These penalties can be increased if there are extenuating circumstances in your case. For instance, if you refuse to take a BAC test with your first Maryland DUI arrest, you will instantly face a 120-day license suspension. If you are convicted of a DWI for the first time, you will only face a 45-day suspension. Subsequent DWI offenses will cost you your license for 90 days.

Auto Insurance Consequences

When you are done serving your license suspension time, you will have to prove that you have liability insurance coverage before you can start driving again. However, you may find that this is extremely difficult. Depending on your insurance providerís policies, you may lose your coverage for your DUI conviction. If your insurance provider does not drop your policy, you will find your rates increased. If you are dropped, you will have to find a new provider before you will be given your license back.